Question about verification

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by fingrrrl, Nov 7, 2001.

1. fingrrrl

fingrrrl Well-Known Member

I have a Capital One charge-off on my credit report that is mine and is correct, but I'm trying to get it removed because I think Capital One is screwing me over since the original amount charged-off was $1100 and now in the past two years, it has escalated to almost $1700 and I refuse to pay this amount. (By the way, is this legal? I thought charge-offs were for tax reasons to report a loss, but how can they inflate this amount with interest and make a profit off of me?) Anyway, I've been disputing it online on Experian for the last two months and it stays. But, now that it's a new month, I thought I'd try again but when I did, I received this message:

"We have already investigated this information, and the creditor has verified that it is correct."

What does this mean? Does it mean I can never dispute it again or that I have to wait awhile before I try again? Thanks.

2. Hal

Hal Well-Known Member

Charge off's do provide tax benefits for companies as they are written off as profit and loss.

If it is the original company, and they collect the charged off balance directly from you, it again becomes income which they are taxed again on.

If the original company sells it to a collection agency, it is usually for pennies on the dollar and they don't really gain much if anything from writing off the loss.

In most states collections accounts are subject to interest, in some states fees as well.

I suspect the additional fees could be negotiated down signifigantly, especially with a collection agency. If the agency purchased this account for $400.00 any thing they net above this they will work with you as they are still making money on the account.

The older it is, the more negotiating clout you have.

3. lbowman

lbowman Well-Known Member