Question on how to respond to a Sallie Mae letter

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by MischaM, Jul 30, 2009.

1. MischaM

MischaM Member

Dear Everyone,

I love this site. It's helping me try to rehabilitate my terrible credit rating. I am a newbie here, so please forgive me if my question is silly or seems obvious. I've searched the boards, however, and can't seem to find an answer. An answer could be posted already, I know, but I haven't been able to find it.

Here's the problem: Sallie Mae is reporting late payments on subsidized loans I took out for grad school. They are reporting that I was late with payments in the Fall of 2006 and Fall of 2007. I wrote to Sallie Mae and provided them with documentation that at both of these times I was in a postgrad fellowship program that qualifies for loan deferment. This is all true. Moreover, I have already told Sallie Mae this several times: by letter, by fax too. They repeatedly have made mistakes-- always in their favor-- and switched the loans to payment due status even when I've provided them with documentation showing the loans qualify for deferment.

I provided them with this documentation a few days ago, for the third or fourth time. This time, they wrote back:

"Our records indicate that your account was reported as delinquent to credit bureaus on 11/30/06. Although a deferment or forbearance applied to your account on 12/12/06 retroactively resolved your past due status, we cannot reverse the correct information that we previously reported to credit bureaus.â?

This outraged me. First of all, my loan was in deferment not forbearance. The distinction is important as the deferment status does not allow Sallie Mae to add to the principal of the loan, which they have of course done.