Ready to fix past mistakes

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by tarodney, Aug 1, 2002.

1. tarodney

tarodney Member

Hello everyone. I am a fist time writer who is totally lost as to what to do. I have read this site and everyone seems very helpful and forth coming...so here goes.

I first got credit with my fianace back when we first started college. It was too much too soon. Needless to say, it didn't take long for us to ruin our credit. In the past me approach to the subject was to ignore it. My last true effort at paying was back in 2000. But then I lost my job and blahblah.. Anyway, I am now married (not to the same person) when a son. We hope to purchase a home before we are senior citizens, so I need some advice on the best approach to this. Most of the accounts are charge-offs with last activity dates in 1999 and 2000. My ex went to cccs and did well on some of the joint accounts, but has now stopped paying or paying late which makes things worse. I have a stable job now and would like to know what to to
    1. Should I file bankrupcy, which I do not want to do.
    2. Should I start paying them, how long before my cr makes progress. Can I ask that the account be reaged in exchange for automatic and timely payments?
    This will be a totally new expense for me. I will make the sacrafice and fit $200-300 in my budget if it will make a diffence in 2-3 years. If not, I would wait it out and put the $200-300 in a savings account. I do not want to pay them and still my credit stays poor.
    Should I only pay some?
    As you can see, I am totally lost.

Thank you in advance for any help.

2. picantel

picantel Well-Known Member

You need to list what state you live in and list your debts, the chargeoff/date of last activity, the amounts, and what CA is dealing with which account. Then we can help you with a strategy.

3. tarodney

tarodney Member