Rebuilding Credit

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by chargeoffs, Jan 31, 2001.

1. chargeoffs

chargeoffs Guest

I am a senior in college and I finish this semester. Unfortunately, I made a terrible mistake about in the summer of 1999. I took out unsecured loans for my ex-boyfriend and allowed use of my charge cards. He promised to pay on them. Of course, he lied. Unfortunately, I was a college student and was unable to pay on them to save my credit. Therefore, I have more than a few chargeoffs, and a judgment. My credit is pretty bad, except for the credit cards that I personally use and pay on. I am now older and wiser and realize that this year I will need things like an apartment, and a new car. I've been paying what I can on the judgment, but the chargeoffs are too much. I am doing the best that I can because I also need money to survive on. I don't know where to begin. Should I dispute the entries with the creditors or credit bureaus? I may be able to settle for about 50% of what the chargeoffs are worth (that's a big MAYBE)later this year (after I get my apartment). Should I write letters to the creditors and credit bureaus explaining what has happened. I have a student loan out for about $2,000 ($40/mth. next 2-3 yrs.) The rest of the debt is about $15,000. I know that it sounds like alot, but I expect to make about $30,000 this year. My car is paid off, hopefully it will last about another year. I am young, 22yrs old, have no children, a great new boyfriend, a bright future ahead, and learned a big lesson. Where do I go from here? Is it worth it for me to pay it? Unfortunately, at this point most of the collectors have stopped calling and the chargeoffs are about 1 to 2yrs. old. I am thinking about joining Junum. Is that a good idea or is it too early? Thank you in advance and may God bless you.

2. Donna

Donna Well-Known Member

Sorry to hear about your credit cituation.