second card same bank?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by paul, Aug 26, 2000.

1. paul

paul Guest

If you have a credit card with a certain bank can you apply for a second new card with the same bank?Anyone know of any banks that allow this?

2. me

me Well-Known Member

I have done this - no problems.

One thing tho - If your first account was recently opened, they might not open another account. They may require that the first account be open for some length of time. That happened to me at Chase.

3. Nytewriter

Nytewriter Guest

Try Capital One. I have a Visa and a Master Card from Capital One.

4. roni

roni Well-Known Member

all except providian. I have 2 capital one and had 2 from provident bank. Orchard allows 2 and most others.

5. b golden

b golden Guest

How long was it before you applied for your second capital one card? What credit limit did you get on your first one? How have you liked using Orchard bank? Just wondering. :)

Is your credit pretty good?

6. creditwork

creditwork Well-Known Member

I have 4 accounts with Chase.

http://www.creditsense.com

7. samantha

samantha Guest

People can have up to twelve accounts with citibank. I have 3.

8. roni

roni Well-Known Member

9 Months. I opened my first secured card in Nov. '99. I got my second one this month (aug '00). Orchard is very friendly. However they arenot generous with credit line increases. I heard you have to have the card for 6-9 months before they will consider and increase. Capital one is generous if you are Never late and Never the limit.

9. me

me Well-Known Member

I had 3 citibank cards too - now only 2 because I closed one.

10. RichGuy

RichGuy Guest

Capital One is Generous?

I have read postings that indicate some people get large increases on their secured Capital One MasterCards. But others complain about this card, especially about not going unsecured.