Should I respond?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by DMYZ, Sep 29, 2003.

1. DMYZ

DMYZ Active Member

Hi, Im pretty new to this but I think Ive thoroughly searched for an answer to this and I cant find one exactly...

backround;
    -I was sent a notice from a CA stating that theyve recently purchased my account from an OC
    -My last transaction with this OC happened 6 years ago this coming April
    -My original agreement with the OC was per transaction and orally over the phone, I basically authorized a check each time
    -Many of the checks they cashed against my account didn't have check numbers according to my bank statements although I had given a check number to the OC with each transaction
    -I was originally made aware that the OC believed there was an outstanding balance when they began resubmitting checks to my bank that they said had been returned and some checks that they said they had yet to ever submit even though I had authorized them moths earlier. My account was so screwed up I had to close it
    -After the account was closed for a period of time they notified me via mail that I owed them a certain amount which was supposed to be the total of the returned checks
    -I had kept bad records of my transactions with them and their unorthodox approach to cashing in my checks made it impossible to figure out if I really owed them anything without a copy of their records
    -I disputed an amount I supposedly owed to the OC over the phone and they never provided me with anything in writing that explained how they came up with the figure they say I owe
    -I sent a request for validation letter to this recent CA, asking for the name and address of the OC, a detailed list and explanation of charges, and the CA's liscence number to operate in my state. an important point; I asked them to 'verify' the debt not 'validate' by accident