Something I'm missing?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by lwg8tr, Jun 13, 2001.

1. lwg8tr

lwg8tr Well-Known Member

I recieved a summons to appear at a pre-trial for credit card account with Direct Merchants Bank. All three credit reports show a date of last activity of 6/1996, the SOL in Florida for credit card debt is 4 years, in fact Experian shows that the credit entry will expire on 6/2003(do the math). In the papers the attorney shows a facimile of a credit card statement with a date of 12/97. What gives, is the attorney trying to bluff? or is he really this dumb. I have no record of any payment or arrangements to pay in 1997 at all. Should I call him and explain what an utter waste of time or go through the motions. What will I need in the pre-trial to show the mediator?

Thanks in advance

2. bbauer

bbauer Banned

Well, I'm no legal expert, but I do have some ideas based on experience.

I hate those pre-trial mediations. Those guys turn them into a "truth-or-consequences" show real quick every time I get into them. I come out feeling like I am some kind of serial rapist. So I normally try to just ignore them and let it happen.

In this case, I don't think I want to advise you to do that.
    But I also think that if I were in your position, I would not want to let them in on anything I knew at all. I would want them to make their mistakes. I'd want to keep my 5th amendment rights to not say anything that might tend to incriminate me close by my side. While I know full well that we are not talking about a criminal trial here, I'd plead the 5th anyway if I had to just to screw up the process to the greatest extent possible.