Student Loan Defaults; avoid fees

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by longhair, Jul 24, 2001.

1. longhair

longhair Active Member

I have a student loan that I defaulted on in 1999. I found a company on the net, called CREDIT RESOURCES NETWORK, that claims that they will negotiate the loan back to the day I gruaduated. No more bad credit, and no intrest and fees. As I have read alot of information on the subject of defaulted student loans, I was wondering why someone else hasn't done this.

The company told me that a group of underwriters would purchase my loan from the guarator and re do it like the day I graduated, After some payments the bad credit and all would be deleted. Just wondering if anyone else has done business with this company called CREDIT RESOURCES NETWORK, in Chicago, IL.

I was just wondering if there is anyone out there that has negotiated to have the collection fees and intrest cancelled when the rehabed their defaulted loan.

Jeff

2. CardKid

CardKid Well-Known Member

Try calling your original lender(s) and ask about rehabilitating your loan(s). That is, make 12 timely payments, the bad credit is erased, and your loan is brought current.

RJ

3. longhair

longhair Active Member

BUT is the collection costs and the accrued interest WAVIED? They are wanting me to pay $15K more than I borrowed.

4. marci

marci Well-Known Member

No, not with a government rehabilitation program. 15K more is a lot to repay, but then again, how much did you borrow? That must be mostly interest, since collection costs are capped at 18.5% of the original principle.

I haven't heard of the company that you listed above, and I don't think just any company can *guarantee* deletion unless that company uses the contracts that the DOE set up for rehab.