student loans-due dilligence

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by curiouser, Apr 24, 2001.

1. curiouser

curiouser Well-Known Member

I don't know much about student loans and student loan rehab, so this might be totally irrelevant. I was going through some 10+ year old files last night and ran across some notes from when I was a paralegal working on a major student loan case. Seven japanese banks were suing BofA because they had lost billions they (Japanese Banks) had loaned in in guarranteed student loans (BofA was the US agent). The reason that the banks lost the money was that BofA did not exercise "due dilligence" standards in collecting these loans, therefore, the US Dept. of Ed would not reimburse the loan. (The loans were deemed uncollectable from the debtor -- many of the loans were to welfare recipients attending dubious trade schools.)

My question is this? Does the lender have a due dilligence obligation to the debtor? I'm thinking of cases where many years have passed; the debtor has heard nothing and the debtor could have easily been found. It might be an interesting avenue to explore.

2. Karen

Karen Well-Known Member

Re: mini warehouses and credit

I put some stuff in a mini warehouse and agreed to pay them monthly for the space. Because of slow mail, some payments were late by a few days. They reported this to all three credit bureaus and now I am stuck with this on my report. The payments were always made but some were late by as much as a week. Is this the type of thing that is deemed credit and therefore reportable to the CRI's? I would like to find some argument to get this off my reprts.

3. Anon

Anon Guest

KAren

good question, but you should start a thread about it, the posters question was about student loans.

4. Karen

Karen Well-Known Member

Re: KAren

Thanks. I am still learning how to use this board.

5. Anon

Anon Guest

Re: KAren

don't worry, just didn't want your question to get lost in the discussion.

6. Bill Bauer