Student with no credit

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by faddat, Aug 5, 2003.

1. faddat

faddat New Member

I'm a 19-year old student with one (CapitalOne - $800 limit, $300 original limit) credit card and no other credit history. I was recently denied a second increase on the limit on that card, and have requested my credit history from equifax (for free, they were who CapitalOne used).

As far as I know, I have no "bad things" in my credit history, except for applications for credit (EX: Discover Card). Does anyone know how I can get more credit? I will be traveling abroad shortly and could use more credit quickly, mostly out of fear of emergencies.

Would trying one of the "subpar" cards on the "credit cards" section of this page be a good idea? Should I try to take something more up with CapitalOne?

Credit I've been denied:
    -Discover Card (repeatedly)
    -Credit Limit Increase on my CapitalOne Visa
    -Account Protection on my Citibank checking account

Now, here's the thing that I really don't get:

I <B>Always</B> pay my bill on time, and I have never been late with a payment. I don't understand why I have been repeatedly denied credit.

Does anyone have any clue what's going on? Is one of the "subpar" cards a good idea?

Thanks!

2. lakpr

lakpr Well-Known Member

The reason could be your FICO score. FICO rewards long credit history, and in your case, with only a few months of history, you might be scoring below 620. And you also say you repeatedly applied for Discover ... each inquiry hurts you, and your repeated applications for credit only hurt your score more. Also, due to the way FICO algorithm works, a hard inquiry hurts more on a short-history report (approx 7 point hit) than a long-history report (3-4 point hit). Short history => anything less than 2 years