$$ to burn and a debt to pay

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Kelfig, Aug 22, 2003.

1. Kelfig

Kelfig Member

This may be the only time this happens in my life, but I have some cash in hand to settle a debt right now. This will really be the only time I have to settle a debt.

I don't want to dispute the validity of the debt anymore, and I am interested in moving forward.

2. Kelfig

Kelfig Member

(sorry I got cut off.. I AM A NEWBIE!)

So I have medical problems and lots of $$ going away to pay for medical costs, I am upside down in a home, I live in a depressed economy and I am not employable right now, and I simply cannot afford the accord and satisfaction offer they made to me of $5K. I do, however, have a check for $3.5K which I WOULD LOVE to have make the debt go away.

I wonder who, if anyone, has had any luck settling a debt for pennies on the dollar, between 35% and 40% of the debt.

The CA who is handling my case is in Houston but I forget their name.

I also am anxious just to call the CA and run this up the flagpole but it really is my BOTTOM LINE offer to settle... the cookie jar is empty after this check for $3.5K.

Thanks for your responses!!!

3. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member

With all your financial woes, are you sure you want to send it out the door? Are they hounding you, threatening to sue? etc.

I'm not telling you not to pay the bill! But if you are upside down, ill, and unemployable, that 3.5 may come in handy.

4. lostinoz

lostinoz Active Member

i agree with jlynn. i had a lump sum of money at one time and decided to pay off some credit cards -- before reading this board. yikes!! paid off cards but derogs still on report. then other things more pressing happened (car died, health issues, etc) and the funds weren't available. read these boards and make sure you have all bases covered before letting go of that kind of money.

i hope things work out for you.

5. lbrown59

lbrown59 Well-Known Member