To J. Edgar or anyone who can

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by C, May 29, 2000.

1. C

C Guest

I made the subject to J. Edgar since he was the one who helped me with the problem of removing items from my credit report, but of course anyone who can offer credible advice is helpful. He told me that since collection agencies buy charge-offs for pennies on the dollar, I could make a deal to pay less than half of the amount I really owe. Exactly how would I go about writing such a letter to the collection agency? I've never done this before and I am a little wary that if not done the right way, I could ruin my chances of lowering my balance due and having the item removed from my credit report. I have a $1300 charge-off, so how much do you think I should bargain for? 300? 400? How would I word my letter? Any comments would really help. Thanks so much!

2. Barry N -

Barry N - Guest

RE: To J. Edgar or anyone who

C.

Before you write any letter you need to actually negotiate the deal over the phone with a rep at the agency. How much you offer on the account depends on the age of the debt. For instance if it is only a year old, you will have less chance to negotiate. IF it is 4 years old, then you can get great deal... since the statute of limitation on the debt is most likely about to run out. You may have to agree to higher payoff to get the agency to agree to a positive rating or removal the item in your credit files.

Negotiate on the phone, get the name of the agency rep that agreed to the deal. Mail them the letter outlining the agreement, and have their rep sign and return it to you. And then and only then do you mail them a check. Remember certified/return receipt mail is your friend, use it!

We have an example letter on our site: http://www.creditmania.com/document.htm

Good Luck,

BarryN

3. J. Edgar

J. Edgar Well-Known Member