True APR on CCs

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by slppryslp, May 9, 2002.

1. slppryslp

slppryslp Well-Known Member

One thing I've never seen talked about on this board or anywhere else for that matter is that credit cards seem to charge you more than the stated interest rate. If you dig intothe paperwork they send you generally the way they compute interest is by taking the interest rate say 20% and divide it by 365. That is the daily rate which is applied to your balance daily. Which means that it is compounding DAILY which means that the effective APR is higher. It generally works out to be 1% more at a 10% APR and 2% more at a 20% APR. It is much like bank accounts where the more often they compound the interest(ie monthly, weekly, daily, continuously) the higher the effective interest rate.

My question is how do they get out of the truth in lending act which requires (as far as I understand it and I'm no expert)the disclosure of the simple yearly interest rate.

I know we have some math whizzes on this board too, so back me up or show me where I'm wrong on this.

2. the other

the other Well-Known Member

The rate they quote is the nominal rate, it is relatively easy to calculate the effective rate. I didn't think they (the cc companies) were require to state the effective rate?

3. slppryslp

I thought I might as well post the formula you would use to figure out the true apr.
    True APR=((1+(APR/365))^365)-1
    The APR should be a decimal not a percentage--12%=.12
    Also some credit cards compound monthly, but the result is still about the same.

4. Rina

Rina Well-Known Member

It's actually 365.25, and the above formula works for simple interest loans only. Using that formula you can calculate how much interest accrued since your last payment, and what your payoff balance will be given a certain date.