What shoul I do?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by AO, Jul 12, 2000.

1. AO

AO Guest

Hi,
    I recently got an invitation to apply for a credit card and did so. But they send me a letter saying that they can not give me a credit card because the credit report they received did not contain the required credit references and I have limited credit experience.

When I got the application I thought that they already checked my credit history and approved it, that`s why I applied. Now I have another bad thing in my credit report. I don`t know what I should do. I have a secured credit card for 6 months and I always pay the whole amount, but still I am not approved by any other place. My secured card`s limit is so low that I need a new one. What do you recommend?
    Another question, they say in the letter that I have a right to get a free copy of my credit history. Will they send me the same one that they would if I paid them for it. Or is there another type of credit history(maybe a less detailed one) that they send to the refused people.
    Sorry the message is so long. I will appreciate any answer.

2. Alex - Cre

Alex - Cre Guest

The invitations or "Pre-Approved" letters that you receive in the mail do not mean that you have qualified for the card, they will only look at your credit report after you send in the application.

Try to extend your credit card payments into 2 to 3 months instead of paying the whole amount every month, at least until you establish some credit history, I have seen a couple of banks, especially sub-prime banks that wont even bother to report your good payment history to the CRA's if you pay the full amount every month.

Also some banks that offer secured credit cards DO NOT report to the CRA's so check with them and make sure that they do report.

You will get the same copy of your credit report regardless if it's free or not.

Good luck!

Alex.
    Creditinsiders.com

----------------
    Free Credit Repair Information.