What Would You Do? (Medical Collec)

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by beckett, May 21, 2001.

1. beckett

beckett New Member

Ultimate paperwork screwup.

2.5 years ago, i ordered some medical equipment. For the insurance to kick in I had to pay $200 deductable. My parents either never received the bill or never paid it (i was a student at the time, under my parents cobra).

About six weeks ago, i get a letter out of the blue from a CA seeking $400. I call the old insurance company, and they have on record that a $200 deductable was due. They contact the CA to gather some info, CA said they would fax documentation, but never did. CA did record a policy # from the insurance carrier (doh!) but not the right one though (ha!).

The bill from the CA has my MOTHERS? SS#. But the insurance policy was technically in my name.

What should I do? I know the medical supply company is rightfully owed $200, not $400. I'd prefer not to pay the CA, because i have a feeling that it will come back to haunt me. What do i do to keep this off my credit reports?

Today CA sent another letter, stating that their "client" has authorized them to accept $260 or else i risk a derog on my credit. I called the original
    creditor, and they verified that the debt for the deductable was $200. not 400. billing rep said she would call me back tomorrow after conferrring with her superior. I dont know if the account was sold to the CA, but i suspect it wasnt.

I have perfect credit and wanted to buy a house this year!

How do i proceed?
    can they still file a derog if they dont have my SS#?

The original creditor was able to send me a printout that verifies the items purchased, my name, but my mother's SS#.

What a mess.

2. kenc_69

kenc_69 Member