Your rights as a Debtor per FFDCPA

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Goddess, Aug 5, 2003.

1. Goddess

Goddess Member

*Some of you are seriously lost on your rights. This is what I do for a living. And this information is posted on my website. I am NOT giving out my website. I am too busy to have people hitting me up for free advice. If you want itâ?¦look for my postings. The next posting will be HOW to file an FTC complaint and to get the 3rd party debt collectors in a "rock and a hard spot" for violating your rights. I also recommend that you ALWAYS try to make your creditors (NOT PURCHASED DEBT) settle with you for around 20% to 30% of what you owe and get it over with or file BK and work on your own credit. Life is too short to be harassed by debt collectors and/or sending off mountains of paper.

DISCLAIMER [Legal Stuff]: This information is provided for general information purposes only and is not intended to be a legal opinion nor legal advice nor is it intended to be a complete discussion of all the issues related to the area of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act or consumer bankruptcy. Each individual's factual situation is different and you should seek specific legal advice regarding your rights.

The FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT, (15 USC §1692, et. seq.) which became law in 1977, protects consumers from the unfair collection practices of third-party bill collectors. The FDCPA applies only to debt collectors attempting to collect consumer debts -- debts that were incurred for personal, family or household purposes. Business or agricultural debts are not covered by the FDCPA and, even if the debt is a consumer debt, the entity which actually extended the credit is not covered by the FDCPA. For example:

Bill collectors MAY NOT call you or visit with you at inconvenient times or places. That means, generally, before 8:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. or on your job, if you have asked not to be contacted there.