New here! Question about my credit report.

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by arinnah, Jan 12, 2011.

1. arinnah

arinnah Member

Hi all!

I'm a 25 year old student whom is attempting to rebuild my damaged credit. I just paid off a $7,000 car loan without missing a single payment [Yay, me.] and that improved my credit score from the low 400s to the mid-high 500s. Teetering now on the edge of 600.

I just got approved for a Cap1 Secured card with the $49 deposit. Going to keep the $200 limit it comes with and buy a tank of gas every month and pay it off in full to help improve my credit. [Don't need anything crazy, just using it to boost my score.]

Anyway...My question is, when I was young[er?] and stupid, I racked up a good 3-4k in CC debt with WAMU and Chase and a few store cards. None of these have been paid since, IDEK...2005? It's now 2011 and that debt is now in the 12K range due to late fees, charge offs, etc. I got a letter from an 'attorney' claiming to represent the Chase card [which is now $2,800 instead of the original 1k, obviously.] and telling me they are going to sue me, expect a summons in the mail. I've gotten no summons [yet]...I make minimum wage [$7.40]. This debt is about 6 months shy of having the SOL kick in, as are most of them. [[I think. Debt was opened in Cali and MA, I now live in MI]] I know they probably want to sue before that hits.

What is my best method of attack here? I don't make enough to pay them off at this point, I suppose I could continue improving my credit with my secured card and pray I don't get sued...I can't file bankruptcy or rather, don't really want to because I just paid off the car and I'm trying to rebuild my credit with more positive stuff...

Also: The Chase card appears on my CR *four times* and I don't even know why. Is it for how many times they've sold it to someone else or just how old the debt is?

Confused and now have a migraine. Any advice is appreciated!

2. sparq

sparq Well-Known Member