Reaffirm via Chase

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by foodgoddes, Apr 12, 2011.

1. foodgoddes

foodgoddes New Member

I filed bankruptcy over 6 years ago. I never was given an option to reaffirm. The Chase company is not reporting my payments to anyone. It says the loan was discharged in the bankruptcy, it was not. I have not been late or defaulted on any payment to them. I have tried over and over to get this corrected and no one can give me the place to go to get this started. Can someone help please

Thanks in advance

PS I do not know what a reaffirm will do for me???

2. JoshuaHeckathorn

JoshuaHeckathorn Administrator

I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding of "debt reaffirmation" in BK is that it has to be an agreement that's filed with the BK court at the time of bankruptcy. You basically need the court's approval to reaffirm anything in BK. It sounds like you didn't do this with Chase.

What kind of loan is this, and why have you been making payments if you never reaffirmed the debt? Have you disputed it through the CRAs yet?

3. Desdemona

Desdemona Well-Known Member

To reaffirm a debt in BK 7 means that you sign and file with the bankruptcy court a legally enforceable document, which states that you promise to repay all or a portion of the debt that may otherwise have been discharged in your bankruptcy case. This is usually filed w/in 60 days after your 341 meeting.

Reaffirmation agreements are strictly voluntary; they are not required by the Bankruptcy Code or other state or federal law.

If you reaffirm a debt and fail to make the payments required in the reaffirmation agreement, the creditor can take action against you to recover any property that was given as security for the loan and you may remain personally liable for any remaining debt. This is often why it is better not to reaffirm a debt that will be discharged in your bankruptcy.